Makeup Trend I Tried & Didn’t Like: Matte Lips

Matte lips have been all the rage lately and the trend doesn’t seem to be going anywhere soon. More and more brands have been coming out with their own versions of a matte lipstick or matte liquid lipstick. I can see the appeal in a matte lip, for instance they tend not to feather outside of your lip lines and they tend to be very long-lasting as well as budge proof. However, I hate the feeling of most matte lips and the way they look on me personally. I find that practically all of the matte lip products I’ve tried usually emphasize my lip lines. Granted, I haven’t tried a whole ton of matte lip products because I don’t really enjoy them. As someone who tends to always have lip balm nearby, I like the feel of moisturized and hydrated lips. Though some matte formulas are more comfortable than others, I find that none of the ones I’ve tried have been moisturizing, and of course I didn’t expect them to, but that is the type of texture I prefer. I will occasionally bust out a matte lip if I’m wearing a more intense color, such as a red. But for everyday, I think I’m going to stick with my trusty tinted lip balms, creamy lipsticks, and lip glosses.

Probably the most disappointing matte lip product that I’ve tried is the Smashbox Be Legendary Matte lipstick in Stylist. The reason why it was so disappointing to me was because I had saved up for awhile to get it after swatching it in Sephora and falling in love with the color, which is a pretty rose color, something that I don’t have in my collection. Ever since the first swatch, I swatched it multiple times afterwards, in Sephora, Ulta, and even at the Macy’s Smashbox display. A month or so ago when I saw that Ulta had one of their deluxe sample bags with a $35 purchase, I decided that was the time to spend the $21 and get the lipstick. Of course, I was super excited when it arrived and wore it to work that first day, even though I wasn’t loving the color on me. I decided that I needed time for it grow on me since it turned out looking a little neon and unnatural on me, even though it seemed like a pretty natural color. So the next day, I put it on again, but no matter how many angles I looked at it, I didn’t like it on me. It emphasized all my lip lines, even ones that I didn’t know were there and my lips felt pretty crusty (ew) after wearing it for about 3 hours. It also didn’t help that I wasn’t a fan of the color either. I was so unhappy with it that I eventually returned it, which is why I don’t have any of my own pictures of it or any swatches, unfortunately.

smashbox stylist

Picture from sephora.com

If you are looking for a good matte lip product, I would recommend the Revlon matte lipsticks. They have a pretty good selection of colors and they are pretty comfortable to wear, plus they are at a good price and you can always find them on sale! One of my favorites from this line is the color Really Red, which is said to be pretty close to the famous Ruby Woo by MAC. I don’t own Ruby Woo, so I can’t compare the two, but I’m happy with my Revlon dupe. It shows as a true red on me, which can be hard to come by. Some reds, especially those that are too orange or blue-based can look really strange on me, so I was thrilled to find that Really Red complements my skin tone, in addition to being one of the more comfortable matte formulas, in my opinion.

revlon really redrevlon really red swatch

Probably the most unique matte lip product I’ve tried is Jouer’s long-wear lip creme in Praline. It is a metallic bronze-y pink color, while also being matte. This formula is light-weight, dries down pretty quickly, and smells like vanilla cake batter, which I love! The scent dissipates after application. This slightly emphasizes my lip lines, but the glitter helps to give a smoother appearance. This is one of the more difficult products to remove, since after the color is gone, the glitter tends to stick around.

jouer pralinejouer praline wandjouer praline swatch

If there are better matte formulas out there I need to try, let me know!

2 thoughts on “Makeup Trend I Tried & Didn’t Like: Matte Lips

  1. TashaBeauté says:

    Totally agree with this post! I’ve tried countless times with Matte lips it always ends up going patchy and cracking/crumbling after a while.
    I recently bought a NYX Lip Lingerie in Satin Ribbon which is a nude pink, it’s the only matte I’ve had any luck with but learnt not to layer it when reapplying!
    I also couldn’t resist the Jouer Lipgloss, it’s SO pretty I had to grab one when Cult Beauty restocked last month. Instagram creates awful temptation!! 🙈

    Great post xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

