Sale alert! Mini Ulta Haul & more first impressions

I recently visited my local Ulta since I had been meaning to return a couple products, which were lip products I bought on their website after looking at many swatches online, but unfortunately I’m still terrible at judging whether a color will look good on me and the colors I chose looked terrible on me, which was sad since they were beautiful colors. Anyways, I digress. It was the perfect time to head in since that morning I had received an email from Ulta that had an ad for 50% off the bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie lip liners, lip sticks, and lip glosses (sale lasts until 6/15, in store and online)! For 50%, I’d be willing to try anything. So of course, I looked up some reviews and swatches before I went in so I had a good idea of what I wanted. It was somewhat of a success! I spent less than an hour in Ulta (lol), I returned two lip products, and walked out with three and only paid $4! (It was only a partial success because I went in for two products and ended up with three…)

3 lipstick ulta

I went into the store wanting to leave with the Clinique Pop Lip Colour + Primer in Bare Pop (and was interested in swatching Plum Pop and Love Pop on me) and a bareMinerals lip gloss (I hadn’t picked a color yet, but wanted a more metallic one).

First up, I got the Clinique Lip Color in Bare Pop. Plum Pop and Love Pop were pretty, but after the fiasco of the other two lipsticks, I was worried that these bolder colors would not look good on me, so I stuck with a safer nude color. I’ve worn this every day since I’ve gotten it and I love how it looks on me. It is a midtone nude that is slightly pink. On me, it is a MLBB color, but with subtle glitter. Normally, I wouldn’t go for a glittery lipstick since they look a little gritty, however the glitter in this one is so fine that to me it looks more like a shimmer. I really like the effect it gives, since my lips have some fine lines, which are smoothed over with this product. Granted, at first application, the product feels slightly gritty on the lips, but it is not uncomfortable. The grittiness goes away somehow after about 20 minutes. It also does not have any scent to it and lasts for about 3-4 hours on me, but can vary slightly depending on what I’m eating and drinking. It fades nicely, but leaves behind some glitter, which some people may not like. I personally don’t really mind it.

clinique bare popclinique bare pop bulletclinique bare pop swatch

Next up, I headed over to the bareMinerals display to check out the 50% off products. I was immediately drawn to the lipgloss in Spark Plug. However, something really strange happened after swatching it on my hand. At first, it looked like a normal lip gloss, smooth and shiny, but after a couple of seconds, it looked like it was starting to break up on my hand was forming small craters. It looked crazy and made me think I might be allergic to it. I swatched a couple of other lip glosses and the same thing happened! So I decided not to buy any of those. What caught my eye next were their Marvelous Moxie Lip Gloss Iridescent Topcoat, which are beautiful holographic lip glosses. They have three options: Hypnotist (holographic violet peach), Enchantress (holographic pink coral), and Illusionist (holographic opal nude) (descriptions from Ulta’s site). If you’re like me and like anything shiny or holographic, you should check these out! The packaging and the product are beautiful. Naturally, I swatched all three on my hand and thankfully they didn’t break up on me like the other lip glosses. They do this cool thing that’s nearly impossible to catch on camera, where there is an iridescent flash of color when you first apply it before it settles into its normal color. Swatch these in store to see! I ended up picking up the color Hypnotist, since I found Enchantress too neon pink and Illusionist too pale for me, though Enchantress is the most pigmented of the bunch. These have a faint, pleasant mint-y vanilla scent to them that doesn’t linger on the lips. The slanted applicator distributes the right amount of product for me, which I like so I don’t have to keep dipping into the tube for sanitary reasons. I’ve been meaning to try this gloss over other lipsticks to see how it affects the color, since it shifts violet, peach and yellow-y green on me (though far away it effectively looks like a clear gloss), but I don’t want to contaminate the wand with other colors and I don’t own a lip brush, so that might need to change in the future. Don’t expect any crazy holographic effects with this product though. On the lips, it has a slight shift that makes it more interesting. The consistency is thinner than most of my other glosses (to compare: Buxom full-on lip creams, NYX butter glosses, Revlon glosses), which I also like and surprisingly was slightly hydrating and lasted 2 hours, even through a meal! I’m extremely happy I picked this up and that it was 50% off. If I ever run out of this, I may even consider buying another at full price.

bareminerals hypnotistbareminerals hypnotist wand

The last product I picked up on a whim. I had read good things about it when I was looking up reviews on the Marvelous Moxie lip product range, even though there aren’t a ton out there. I only swatched one lipstick shade and it was the one I ended up picking up. The color is described as a pearlescent raspberry on the site and is called “Raise the Bar.” I like how all their Marvelous Moxie lip products have empowering names, and this one is no different. I haven’t had a chance to wear this out yet, so I can’t say anything about the lasting power. It also has a scent similar to the lip gloss from them that I picked up. This will be a good color to wear in the fall.

bareminerals raise the barbareminerals raise the bar bulletbareminerals raise the bar swatch

Overall, I’m really happy with all three products and I’m glad I got to swap out two lip products I didn’t really like for three that I’m excited to wear!

5 thoughts on “Sale alert! Mini Ulta Haul & more first impressions

Leave a Reply

