BeautyKind Haul & First Impressions

One of my favorite bloggers I follow is Jen from Budget Beauty Blog. She posts lots of great reviews and deals on everything from drugstore to high-end makeup. I recently came across this post of hers about an online store called BeautyKind, where they give 5% of your purchase to a cause of your choice, which I think is great! The kicker was that she had a code that gave you $50 off a $75 purchase (nope, you didn’t read that wrong). She gave some great recommendations, as did the people in the comment section. Unfortunately, by the time I got to browsing the site, some of the hot ticket items (Laura Geller Gilded Honey) were already sold out. Nevertheless, I still found some great things and placed an order, which is why we’re here now. I have swatched all the products (couldn’t help myself) but I haven’t had a chance to test them out for qualities like wear time, which I can update later. If you’re looking to jump on the bandwagon and check out BeautyKind, hopefully this will inspire you. 

First on the list, and probably my favorite, is the Laura Geller Baked Color & Contour in Sunset Glow. This contains the famed Baked Body Frosting in Hawaiian Glow, Baked Blush-N-Brighten in Tropic Hues, and Baked Highlighter in French Vanilla. I’ve been wanting to try their Blush-N-Brighten, but at around $28 a piece, I haven’t been able to bring myself to buy one. I’ve also heard great things about their French Vanilla highlighter, so this was a great all-in-one palette to try out these products.

lg sunset glow size complaura geller sunset glowlg sunset glow swatches

 

 

First impression: When I swatched with a finger, the powder was very smooth and gave even pigmentation. I was pleased with the contour color because it seems like it would complement my skin tone well, even though it is on the warmer side. The highlight is unlike my other highlighters. It gives a strong sheen without a lot of glitter, which can come off more natural or can be built up for an intense glow. The blush is a bright pink-y peach color that I don’t normally gravitate towards, so I’m glad that it will be a unique addition. When I attempted to apply the highlighter with a brush, it did kick up a lot of powder, but this does not translate to chalkiness. Just keep that in mind- a little goes a long way with these. I usually don’t like different colored powder products to be housed altogether like this without any solid divider, but for these products it seems okay since the size is large enough to fit my normal brush that I use for each product.

My second and third items are pretty similar: I purchased the butter London Lippy Bloody Brilliant Lip Crayon in Toff and the butter London Polished Pout set (I believe this is a holiday set from 2015), which is a set of four mini Bloody Brilliant Lip Crayons. I agree, getting 5 of the same product is probably overkill, but I had wanted to try the color Toff and the set didn’t include it… so naturally I got the set and the individual (I know, so logical). I was originally looking at the butter London Lippy Liquid Lipstick in Toff, but it had mixed reviews and I was worried it would settle into my lip lines, plus many people related to the NYX butter lip glosses, which in my opinion are pretty sticky and don’t last terribly long. (Funnily enough, I’m still thinking about trying it if another sale comes my way.) I had been wanting to try these Bloody Brilliant Lip Crayons ever since I heard Mallory from mallory1712 on YouTube rave about them.

butter london setbl set open boxbl toffbl sharpenertoff box and shapebl lip crayon swatches

 

 

 

First impressions: They have a nice, mild minty smell to them. All are very pigmented on the lips, but swatch a little sheer on the arm. They leave a glossy finish and have an easy application due to the pencil/crayon shape. Both the set and the individual lip crayon included a sharpener, which I thought was nice. Due to the glossiness, they felt a little tackier than my normal chapstick (Vaseline) but were comfortable. Overall, really liked them and I liked how most of the colors looked on me (thank goodness). None of these had sparkle, except Tea with the Queen which was surprising to me, but not necessarily a con. It felt the same as the others- no grittiness from any of the sparkle.

Mini-Review on my experience with BeautyKind:

Prices: Laura Geller Compact: $45, Butter London Lip Crayon (Toff) $20, Butter London Lip Set $19.99 (originally $29.99!)  = Total $84.99 – $50 with code = $34.99 (less than the Laura Geller compact by itself, or buying the 2 lip products together!)

Shipping: Extremely fast! Made my purchase on Monday afternoon, received a shipping confirmation Tuesday, and received my package Wednesday afternoon! I had even chosen their free shipping option (3-5 days). You can opt to pay $5 for 2 day shipping, but apparently I didn’t need to (woo!).

Overall, I had a great experience with BeautyKind. They packaged my products well, nothing was broken or damaged when I received it. They even included some free samples with my purchase, which was not advertised on their site. And the best part is that my make up addiction can go towards a great cause! They even have a rewards program, similar to Ulta’s I believe, where you can accumulate points. The only downside is I would have to choose which reward programs I want to focus on now- there are too many! A plus is that they carry some prestige brands that are difficult to find elsewhere (i.e. not carried in Ulta or Sephora) and a con is that they have a somewhat limited selection and a lot of brands that I haven’t heard a lot about or are hard to find reviews on (but are pretty pricey so I’m hesitant to try).

 

Leave a Reply

